The tenor saxophonist Joonatan Rautio is well known for his virtuosity and his soloistic strength and vitality. His musical background is firmly rooted in the jazz tradition. Joonatan Rautio makes a strong statement, both rhythmically and harmonically.

He has performed with many top Finnish and International musical artists, including Jim Beard, Randy Brecker, Adam Nussbaum, Jeff "Tain" Watts, Jon Balke, MIke Stern, Chris Minh Doky, Jukkis Uotila, Lars Danielsson, Anders Jormin, Ron McClure, Peter Erskine, Jesse Van Ruller, Mark Soskin and Finland's UMO Jazz Orchestra. He has also led many of his own ensembles, most currently his own trio and electric jazz fusion group, Nassaun Fasaani.

Joonatan Rautio has performed on dozens of recordings covering many different styles of music. He has contributed countless arrangements of his own to these efforts. He has also performed the role of producer for several recordings. Casually he plays the keys and the organ cheering up the audience with his great competence with gospel and rhythm'n blues.

Joonatan Rautio was granted the Yrjö award in 2010 by the Finnish Jazz Federation. It is considered as being the highest accolade in Finnish jazz. He also was received the Finnish Saxophone Society's Josef Kaartinen award in 1999. In the year 2000, he won the Pekka Pöyry prize, and the next year he was named Pori Jazz Artist of the Year for 2001.

He received a master's degree in jazz music in 2003 at the Sibelius Academy. Before that he studied at Helsinki's Pop/Jazz Conservatory from 1993-95.